Crochet seahorses

Shrewsbury

 

Dear World,

Please look kindly on me.  This is my first attempt at a blog and I haven’t written anything creative in yonks.

I have changed career and now spend my time knitting, crocheting (is there such a word?), sewing, woodworking and trying my best to play golf.  Did Yoda say  

There is no try, just do

or words to that effect?  When I try too hard it all goes pear shaped, so I should just do.

Today I want to tell you about crochet seahorses.  I have made some crochet seahorses for some non-crocheting friends and used this pattern

http://www.ravelry.com/designers/chinami-horiba

I made this as part of a trio of seahorses for Elsie as a wall hanging.  I altered the pattern so that the middle seahorse was facing in the opposite direction which was quite tricky, especially with his ear.  The only trouble was he felt a bit skinny to me.

Seahorse- Photo#07

I have been working on my own version of a crocheted seahorse.  The first thing that I did was to print an image of a seahorse.  I chose this one as the ‘ribs’ were really pronounced and would help the design.  He had a beautiful spine that would be great for a picot edging and a dainty fin.  I also wanted to make him have a more rounded belly.

The next thing I did was to lay tracing paper over the image and then started to draw the foundation chains along its back.  I used front and back post stitches of various sizes, single crochet, double crochet, half double crochet, treble crochet and slip stitches.

I worked several test pieces because I found that the tail curled way too much and I wanted it to lay flat in its own space.

Eventually I finished my design and came up with this lovely little chap.  He is only the height of an ordinary pen, so much more compact than the pattern I worked with at first.  I hope you like him.

Cheers,

Lizzie

40 thoughts on “Crochet seahorses

  1. Your seahorse is just wonderful! Are you making the pattern available? It’s exactly what I have been looking for. Congratulations on your blog and best wishes for more successes.

    Like

    1. Hi, I am working on the pattern at the moment. If you would be really kind, I could send you what I have done and you could test it for me… Thank you for the encouragement 😄

      Like

    1. Hi Debs, I am still working on the pattern. I never realised how complicated it was until a friend borrowed the diagram I had made. I am trying to do written instructions too. When I have I will mail you. Cheers xx

      Like

  2. Hi Lizzie! Good luck on your new career! Good luck with your blog.
    Your seahorse is awesome. I would like to encourage you to start a youtube channel. You can make a series of videos on how to crochet your seahorse. A picture is worth a thousand words. The more views you’ll get the more money you can make. And I am sure there are a lot of us that like your seahorse. You don’t even need a diagram.
    All the best!
    Andreea

    Like

  3. The seahorse you made is soooo pretty. Haven’t found anything near as beautiful! If you have managed to finish the pattern I would be very interested to try it out!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Hi Lizzie,

    I would also love this pattern when you make it available. My husband loves it, I will make it into a book mark for him, he would treasure it forever.

    Thank you.
    Etta

    Like

  5. Your seahorse is absolutely adorable and I would love to have the written pattern when available. I am making a baby afagan for my grandbaby.
    Good luck on your new blog!

    Like

  6. Is there a written pattern for this sea horse? It is beautiful, and exactly what I need, but I have never used a graph before or do I know how to read them! Please help me!

    Like

  7. I just ran across this beautiful seahorse and would love the pattern. Sounded like you had it finished last year. I love me a free pattern but this I would buy! Lovely and so realistic!

    Like

  8. I agree this is the best crochet seahorse I have ever seen. Been looking a long time! Will you email me the pattern? A chart is fine, Im pretty good at reading them now!

    Like

  9. This is so beautiful. I am in love! I have been looking for a crocheted seahorse, for so long. You did an amazing job!
    I would love love love to have your pattern. Is there somewhere to purchase it? ❤

    Like

  10. Love the seahorse. I am an avid crocheter. I can read any written and charted pattern except this one. If you can guide me to the first chains to start, then I can figure out the rest (at least I think). Thank you.

    Like

    1. Hi Paula, this chart isn’t my own but I will help you if I can. At the tip of the tail there is a white arrow, that is the starting point. The black arrow on the fin is where you finish. The number to the right of the diagram tells you how many chain to start with (84), as I recall. Good luck with your seahorse 🙂

      Like

      1. It’s still a great pattern. FYI, I found the same pattern except the diagram uses different colors as a guide which also has a legend specifying the order the colors (stitches) to follow. I hope that makes sense? If you’re interested in the url let me know. Again, thank you!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

